HFCS is Everywhere

Image

What do you do when you read something you find utterly disturbing labeled as news? I for one start to do research. Today I read an article a Banoosh.com suggesting we not drink certain beers because they contain certain ingredients that are bad for our health.

One of those ingredients is High Fructose Corn Syrup. Yes, the same High-Fructose Corn Syrup that is in your favorite daily beverages such as non-diet soft drinks, ready-to-drink teas, juice drinks, sports drinks and other non-diet sweetened beverages. According to Banoosh.com, “High fructose corn syrup has been long banned from many stores and drinks.” yet I haven’t seen Coca-Cola or Pepsi removed from our grocery stores. Nor have I seen Koolaid or Arizona Iced Tea removed.

Over the year, drinks like Coke’s Vitamin water have been sold as a viable option to a healthy diet when it contain almost as many Calories as Coke (Vitamin Water – 125 | Coca-Cola – 140) and 33 grams of sugar!  Does that seem healthy to you? I understand that it’s business. Mind you, I am a huge consumer of Coca-Cola and I don’t plan on stopping any time soon, but you get how this could be bad for certain people. Also I understand that this is a business and businesses like this do things like this all the time, but I’ve come to the point where I’m asking myself where it ends?!

Ending that rant, why should we stop drinking our alcoholic beverages of choice simply because brewery’s such as Guinness and Pabst include an ingredient which is commonly found in the things we eat and drink every day? I guess I should stop eating Corn Flakes and English Muffins because they include HFCS?

We know what we’re doing when we are putting alcohol into our systems. None of us our blind to the fact that too much of it is a bad thing. And if we drink Coca-Cola and eat Corn Flakes, it doesn’t make sense why you should eliminate alcohol from unless it doesn’t suit your taste.

Leave a Reply

